
Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF 
COMMERCE AND INSURANCE 

Division 2197—Board of Therapeutic Massage 
Chapter 4—Apprenticeship Training Program 

 
PROPOSED AMENDMENT  

 
20 CSR 2197-4.030 Apprenticeship Training Program. The board is amending section (1). 
 
PURPOSE: This amendment updates and clarifies clock hours for training. 
 
(1) An apprenticeship training program shall encompass those activities as defined within section 

324.240(7), RSMo, and shall consist of at least [five hundred (500)] six hundred (625) hours 
of supervised instruction pursuant to section 324.265.1(2), RSMo. The content of supervised 
instruction shall be subject to board approval and consist of the following: 
(B) At least [T]three hundred (300) clock hours dedicated to the study of massage theory and 

practice techniques taught by the certified mentor; 
(D) At least [F]fifty (50) clock hours dedicated to business practice, professional ethics, 

hygiene, and massage law in the state of Missouri taught by the certified mentor with 
documented experience in the course of instruction; and  

(E) At least [F]fifty (50) clock hours dedicated to ancillary therapies taught by the certified 
mentor with documented experience in a related field. The fifty (50) clock hours shall 
include but not be limited to cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and first aid which shall 
be provided by an instructor who holds the respective certification. If the certified mentor 
is unable to provide a course of instruction in CPR and/or first aid, an apprentice may 
obtain the required training from a massage therapy program approved by the Missouri 
Coordinating Board for Higher Education (CBHE) or organization such as the American 
Heart Association or American Red Cross. 

 
AUTHORITY: sections 324.240 and 324.245, RSMo 2016.* Material in this rule was originally 
filed as 4 CSR 197-4.010 and 20 CSR 2197-4.010. Original rule filed Aug. 27, 2009, effective Feb. 
28, 2010. Amended: Filed Aug. 21, 2019, effective Feb. 29, 2020. Amended: Filed Aug. 12, 2025.  
 
PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions 
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate. 
 
PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private entities more than five hundred 
dollars ($500) in the aggregate. 
 
NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition 
to this proposed amendment with the Board of Therapeutic Massage, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City, 
MO 65102, by facsimile at (573) 751-0735 or via email at massagether@pr.mo.gov.  To be 
considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in 
the Missouri Register.  No public hearing is scheduled. 


